in ,

Duke Holds Off Notre Dame to Win Third Lacrosse Title in Five Years

NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Duke Beats Notre Dame To Win National Championship

Notre Dame again pulled within a goal when Sergio Perkovic scored with 49 seconds left. Brendan Fowler then won the ensuing faceoff for Duke and Wolf beat a pair of Irish defenders for an open-net goal his 64th of the season — that sealed the Blue Devils’ second title in a row.

Notre Dame fell to 0-2 all-time in the NCAA title game after being unable to recover from the first half, during which they had more turnovers (11) than shots (9).

Duke University won the men’s lacrosse national championship for the second straight year and third time in five seasons after opening a six-goal lead and holding on for an 11-9 win over the University of Notre Dame.

Senior attackman Jordan Wolf had two goals and four assists for Duke (17-3), which became the eighth school to win back-to-back titles and first since Syracuse in 2008-09. The last school to win three lacrosse championships in a five-year stretch was Princeton, which claimed five titles over eight seasons from 1994 through 2001.

Duke took an 8-2 lead midway through the third quarter in Baltimore yesterday and then withstood a second-half run during which Notre Dame pulled within a goal with five minutes remaining. After the Irish missed a chance, Wolf sent a pass to Kyle Keenan, who scored his second goal of the game with 2:39 left to give Duke a 10-8 advantage.

“We just played 30 minutes of poor lacrosse to start the game,” Notre Dame coach Kevin Corrigan said. “I really don’t know what to attribute that to, but it’s my responsibility, and we didn’t come out prepared to play our best lacrosse.”

Perkovic finished with five goals for Notre Dame, all of which came in the second half, and Matt Kavanagh added two.

“We thought all along that the last 20 minutes were going to be where the game was decided,” Corrigan said. “We knew we were deeper, we knew we would be stronger in the last 20 minutes, and we were, we just came up a play or two short.”


Tamar Braxton Turned Up The Heat With “The Love And War Tour” At The Fillmore Silver Spring Maryland

Red Bull GRC Patrik Sandell win in DC, Nelson Piquet Jr takes second place.