in ,

Washington Mystics Announce 2016 Schedule and New WNBA Format

Story By: Erin Zollars

Photos By: Sol Tucker

Washington, D.C–

mystics vs sun 1The WNBA has now reformatted its 34-game regular season scheduling to the following:

Every team will play each other three times. With the six teams in the opposing conference, three teams will consist of two away matches and one home match, and the other three teams will have two home matches and one away match. A similar format will occur with each of the five teams in the same conference of any particular team.

There will be four matches against one opponent in the same conference. The Mystics will face the Chicago Sky four times this season.
The Mystics’ 2016 regular season schedule

The Mystics’ regular season schedule is below. Note that there is a month-long break between late July to late August because of the Olympics.
Date Opponent Time (ET)
Saturday, May 14, 2016 New York Liberty 7 p.m.
Wednesday, May 18, 2016 Dallas Wings 7 p.m.
Friday, May 20, 2016 Los Angeles Sparks 7 p.m.
Saturday, May 21, 2016 at Connecticut Sun 7 p.m.
Thursday, May 26, 2016 at Seattle Storm 10 p.m.
Sunday, May 29, 2016 at Phoenix Mercury 6 p.m.
Wednesday, June 1, 2016 Chicago Sky 7 p.m.
Friday, June 3, 2016 at Chicago Sky 8:30 p.m.
Sunday, June 5, 2016 at Atlanta Dream 3 p.m.
Wednesday, June 8, 2016 at Dallas Wings 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, June 11, 2016 Minnesota Lynx 7 p.m.
Tuesday, June 14, 2016 at Connecticut Sun 7 p.m.
Saturday, June 18, 2016 Atlanta Dream 7 p.m.
Wednesday, June 22, 2016 Indiana Fever 7 p.m.
Friday, June 24, 2016 Phoenix Mercury 7 p.m.
Sunday, June 26, 2016 Minnesota Lynx 4 p.m.
Wednesday, June 29, 2016 San Antonio Stars 11:30 a.m.
Friday, July 1, 2016 at Chicago Sky 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, July 6, 2016 at San Antonio Stars 8 p.m.
Sunday, July 10, 2016 at Los Angeles Sparks 7 p.m.
Wednesday, July 13, 2016 at Phoenix Mercury 3:30 p.m.
Friday, July 15, 2016 at Seattle Storm 10 p.m.
Wednesday, July 20, 2016 New York Liberty 11:30 a.m.
Friday, July 22, 2016 Los Angeles Sparks 7 p.m.
Saturday, August 27, 2016 at Indiana Fever 7 p.m.
Sunday, August 28, 2016 San Antonio Stars 7 p.m.
Friday, September 2, 2016 at Minnesota Lynx 8 p.m.
Sunday, September 4, 2016 at Dallas Wings 4:30 p.m.
Wednesday, September 7, 2016 Chicago Sky 7 p.m.
Friday, September 9, 2016 Seattle Storm 7 p.m.
Sunday, September 11, 2016 Indiana Fever 4 p.m.
Tuesday, September 13, 2016 at New York Liberty 7 p.m.
Thursday, September 15, 2016 at Atlanta Dream 7 p.m.
Sunday, September 18, 2016 Connecticut Sun 4 p.m.
Postseason format changes

The WNBA made the biggest news with its postseason format changes. The league will still have eight playoff teams, but they will be the league’s eight best teams on regular season record.

In the 2015 season, there were three seasons of playoff formats. But now there will be four rounds of playoff games that will consist of the top two team getting byes while the next six teams get into a single-elimination playoff tournament for those other two semifinals spots. The WNBA semifinals and Finals will turn into a best of five series.

Wizards Continue to Slide, Fall to Nuggets, 117-113

Hoyas Come Up Just Short Against Another Top Ranked Team, Lose to Providence, 73-69